Be a Follower Not a Leader

Posted: September 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

Image

I am new to twitter so here are some ways I feel that will help me gain new followers on twitter. I will start off by making my twitter account look as professional as I possibly can. I will do this by describing myself with words that I feel people will search a lot but still describes me well. My picture will show my personality. So that people don’t think I am some kind of robot that just cares about work and has no time for fun. I will make sure my posts are mainly professional but every now and then I will throw in one that is personal for the same reason as before. I will make sure my followers and following are balanced because if I am following a lot of people and a lot of people are not following me back it makes people wonder or think twice about following me, with the usual result being that I don’t gain a new follower. It also goes the other way too because if I have a lot of people following me but I don’t have a lot of followers, it makes me come off as being stuck up or some other adjective that people don’t usually like to be friends with, and most people wouldn’t want to follow someone like that. It also might be intimating to someone that they wouldn’t even try to get me to follow them back.

When I myself am trying to get someone to follow me, I will follow them first and them leave them a tweet that makes me seem interested in them or their profession or give them a reason to be interested in me. I might also just do something as simple as retweeting some of their stuff they have posted to show them I am interested.

Photo credit: shutterstock.com

Leave a comment